Edward Hotspur

The Official WordPress Blog Of Edward Hotspur – whoever that is.

The Girl From Italy

Happy Valentine’s Daily! Hope it’s romantic, enjoyable, and full of candy and crap like that!

Remember your first crush? Think about that very first object of your affection. Oh, the sweaty palms. The swoony feeling in your stomach. Tell us the story of your first crush. What was it about this person that made your heart pound? Was the love requited? Change the names to protect the guilty or innocent if you must! No judgement here. Happy Valentine’s Day!

It was the summer between second and third grade. I was 7. My brothers and I had a sitter all summer long, but this sitter’s younger brother was around our age. Most of the summer was spent daring each other to touch the electric fence, climbing trees, attempting to make pottery by forming and drying clay in the sun, collecting aluminum cans for money ($5!), rolling huge tires down the hills of paved streets (which could have killed someone, and wasn’t even my first felony attempt by a long shot), and swimming in their pool.  But for about two weeks, their cousin was there. She was also 7, just a month younger than me. Her father was American, and her mother was Italian. She was born in Italy. She was fiery – ostensibly like her mother. She was really cute. And I was totally smitten.

So one day, after some talking, we went behind the propane tank – this was a pretty rural area – and we each had our first kiss. It was fantastic. I’ll never forget it. 7 years old. My first real kiss. We also had our 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th real kisses.

Now, many years later, I’m married to a woman who was born in Italy. She’s fiery.  She’s really cute. And I’m totally smitten.

To answer your question – no, it’s not the same girl. Wouldn’t that have been a cool story? Maybe… but I like the story that happened with my wife MUCH better. She’s my last crush.

Edward Hotspur

  1. A journey begins..proud eagle.. | The Wandering Poet
  2. Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love | Basically Beyond Basic
  3. Happy Valentine’s day | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Two of us | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. We are Entangled: We are Smitten « psychologistmimi
  6. Dimples And Dreadlocks; A Story of First Love | The Jittery Goat
  7. A Second Chance – A Friday Flash Story | My Little Avalon
  8. Valentine’s Broken Song – a poem woven with tears | alienorajt
  9. Kindergarden Crushed | Finale to an Entrance
  10. Watching Love Unfold | The Silver Leaf Journal
  11. DP Daily Prompt: It’s Feb. 14 Friday, I’m In Love! | Sabethville
  12. It’s Valentines Day and I’m Not In Love – Musings | wangsgard.com
  13. Yet Another Valentine’s Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  14. Crushed | Kate Murray
  15. A Weird Confession | WanderLust
  16. Worst Valentine’s Day Ever | Sunday Epidemic
  17. Bad Boy (My First Love) | That One Nerdy Chick
  18. Smith Island Cake | Exploratorius
  19. The Anonymous Valentine’s Postal Service | thoughtsofrkh
  20. i do whatever i like whoever i want | yi-ching lin photography
  21. Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love « Mama Bear Musings
  22. whatever i like | y
  23. If Someone Wrote A Song For Me On St Valentine’s Day I Would Be Ecstatic… | Steve Says….
  24. Daily Prompt: Smitten « Vicariously Poetic
  25. Daily Prompt: It’s Friday (Saturday, Sunday, Monday . . .) I’m in Love | No Apologies
  26. Rooted in Love with Shoelaces of Grace Prayers and Promises
  27. Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love | DukkSheit Happens……….
  28. Daily Prompt: It’s friday, I’m in Love- Analyzed by a medical student | Journeyman
  29. My first crush | Knowledge Addiction
  30. My Valentine’s story. | The scribbles in the margin
  31. Romance Haiku | Laith’s Ramblings
  32. Daily Prompt: It’s Friday I’m In Love | snippets and words
  33. Falling in love…Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  34. Snapshot | Musings from a practical mystic
  35. First Love | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  36. It’s Friday, I’m in love. First love. | The Shevster’s Space
  37. Memories of 16 and Pinky Swears « Dancing with Fireflies
  38. 16 « Dancing with Fireflies
  39. Do you have a moment? | FILMS | FOOD | POETRY
  40. Daily Prompt: SMITTEN | my father’s garden
  41. against the grain/instead of the prompt | peacefulblessedstar
  42. Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love | growinolder
  43. My First, Hopefully Only, Love. | Thoughts On Love
  44. Valentine’s Day Runaway | Tish Farrell
  45. Midnight Dawn | The Silver Leaf Journal
  46. The Ideal Lover | An Upturned Soul
  47. Children Without TV #13 Snowboarding | The Vibrant Channeled Creator
  48. Don’t Just Love on Fridays | Random Blotches
  49. Love is Here, Actually | Travel with Intent
  50. I could have loved a bird | Color me in Cyanide and Cherry
  51. Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love | A Room of One’s Own
  52. Happy Valentine’s Day! | The-Priefy’s Blog
  53. It’s Friday, I’m in Love | Cookie the Smelly Beagle :)
  54. I was a teenage girl-watcher | Rob’s Surf Report
  55. The Silent Musing | Living in the Moment
  56. My Travel Crush in the Deep South: New Orleans! | Institute for Hispanic Health Equity
  57. Daily prompt: Smitten/100 Posts Published | Wordz on a Page
  58. Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  59. That 3 Year Old Crush | readingwithafeather
  60. Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love | a Portia Adams adventure
  61. The Smitten Kitten | L5GN
  62. rhapsodiesofmymind
  63. It’s Not You, It’s Me | Into the Heart of Me
  64. Ok, I’ll Eat the Chocolate. But Not Because You Tell Me To. | The Playground
  65. My Author-itis
  66. One Love | My Author-itis
  67. FIRST TIME, I FELL IN LOVE AT 6. AND THEN AT 6:30. | Standing Ovation, Seated
  68. The Bluebird-Daily post: It’s Friday,I’m in Love | Let me tell U a story
  69. Remember Me | FILMS | FOOD | POETRY
  70. Lust not love | Emotional Fitness
  71. How can I ever forget u! oh my <3 | harinivasudev
  72. Smitten | Views Splash!
  73. Off to the Ball! | Haiku By Ku
  74. Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love « The Neophyte Photographer
  75. I’m in Love, Introvert Style | 61 Musings
  76. Neighborhood “Drama” and Facebook
  77. A Message to the Lonely: Looking for Love in All the Wrong Places | The Christian Gazette
  78. Not Into Valentine’s Day? | Cee’s Photography
  79. Smitten By You | The Lonely Husband
  80. Of Heroes, Love and Dragons | The Nameless One
  81. Happy Valentine’s Day Y’all!!! and the Daily | The Shotgun Girls
  82. To You, My Love | Serene Delusions
  83. Imaginary Loves | Sarah’s Typos
  84. First Impressions | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  85. That’s when I knew | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  86. What’s Luv Got to Do With It? / Daily prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  87. My first crush? | Read * Feel * Write
  88. Requited | Active Army Wife
  89. Everybody wants to be in love | sunny side dreamers
  90. A List Of Our WordPress Collaborative Internet Team’s WordPress And Dot Com Websites Under Development In February 2014 | undecided for WordPressicollaboration
  91. Red with pleasure, hot with passion…and friend-zoned | sayanything
  92. Daily Prompt: Being in Love! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  93. Crush Crush Crush | Sam’s Online Journal
  94. A List Of Our WordPress iCollaborative Internet Team’s WordPress And Dot Com Websites Under Development In February 2014 | Ten Days of Progress Using Intuitive Collaboration
  95. My First Crush | Flowers and Breezes
  96. Attaining the intangible | Unlocking The Inner Creative
  97. Daily Prompt: Smitten | Occasional Stuff
  98. Boy Crazy | A Place Apart
  99. A List Of Our WordPress iCollaborative Internet Team’s WordPress And Dot Com 69 Websites Under Development In February 2014 | Ten Days of Progress Using Intuitive Collaboration
  100. Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love | To Breathe is to Write
45 comments on “The Girl From Italy

  1. behindthemaskofabuse
    February 14, 2014

    Awww that’s amour

  2. ranu802
    February 14, 2014

    Nice story.

  3. Bailey Mikell
    February 14, 2014

    What a beautiful story. Really put a smile on my face. Love is so beautiful. Have valentines day!

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m Inlove | Read and Write

  5. Pingback: against the grain/instead of the prompt | peacefulblessedstar

  6. MomBox
    February 14, 2014

    Love love it :)

  7. kanzensakura
    February 14, 2014

    mine has been filled with work, work, work and crap like that. When we got home, my hubster gave me “nuggie” and my cat bit my ankle. so, it has been an unusually festive day. and it’s a full moon too. Yeah…..crap like that. Hope your day has been swell too.

    • Edward Hotspur
      February 14, 2014

      My day has been filled with 1) illness, 2) 5″ of snow and 3) a 6′ crack in a brand new driveway.

      Fun times!

      But it’s also been filled with sitting across from my wife while we reminisce about how we met.

      • kanzensakura
        February 14, 2014

        That is so sweet! That makes me smile hugely. I have fixed my love brownies and in a few minutes, we’ll settle down to watch Strictly Ballroom, hold hands and dance some. I hope you feel better and get to smile at the one you love.

        • Edward Hotspur
          February 14, 2014

          I have! We’ve already been playing songs to each other.

          BTW I love your Hokusai avatar, or gravatar, or whatever.

  8. Silverleaf
    February 14, 2014

    I love your last line – very sweet. That’s the way it should be.

  9. Pingback: I defy you not to be in to this woman | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  10. Pingback: I was a teenage girl-watcher | Rob's Surf Report

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  12. Ayush Shishodia
    February 15, 2014

    Reblogged this on Ayush Shishodia.

  13. pouringmyartout
    February 15, 2014

    you are such a romantic… a goofy romantic

  14. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love. Saturday, I’m not. | Her Crazy World ♥

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  16. Mrs. Hotspur
    February 16, 2014

    Love it honey-pie :)

  17. lumar1298
    February 19, 2014

    Cute story…

  18. benzeknees
    February 24, 2014

    My first crush was Mike (our paperboy). He was 12, I was 6. He was tall, dark & handsome (in my eyes). When I fell off my friend’s bike near him one summer day, he rushed over & tried to help me by holding me till my friend’s father scooped me up & carried me home. I swooned when I woke up in Mike’s arms & don’t remember the transfer to my friend’s father. 4 stitches were worth that moment in his arms!

Say Something I'm Giving Up On You

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2014 by in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog.

Join 4,292 other followers

I Voted

Previously

Lyrical Anarchy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,292 other followers

