Edward Hotspur

The Official WordPress Blog Of Edward Hotspur – whoever that is.

What Would You Do?

Let this be just the start of so many nights like this

Let this be just the start of so many nights like this

This is a game. What would you do in these situations?

1. There is a timer ticking down to the time you will meet your soulmate. Where do you go? Stay near your current address? Travel that day? Stay single even if it means you won’t meet them until your 40s or 50s?

2. Same thing, only it’s ticking down to your death. Does your life change because of this knowledge? Do you live more recklessly because of it? Do you refrain from having children if your life will be short?

3. You can go back to any point in your life and relive it, but you keep your current knowledge. You start again from that point. If it makes it easier, you can do this on your deathbed so you don’t miss anything in ‘this’ life. When do you go to, and why? What do you change, if anything?

4. You can go forward to any point in your life, live for a week, and come back. What age would you visit? And would you change anything?

5. You can clone yourself. Or, a duplicate of yourself shows up. Would you take turns trading lives? Would you trust the other you to do the same things you do now? Would you switch daily, or some larger period? Would you tell your spouse? Would you sleep with yourself, with or without your spouse? Would it be cheating if the other you slept with your spouse?

6. Once in your life, you can kill someone penalty-free. Do you kill anyone? This isn’t mercy-killing, execution or self-defense. This is cold-blooded murder, one per lifetime.  Do you save it for a “rainy day”, or do you plan on one person and just wait for the right time?

Ask yourself all these questions, and answer in the comments below. Some of them might be hard to answer. Some of them will be easy. Have a good time with them!

Edward Hotspur

 

Okay, here are my answers:
1) If my timer ended in my 20s or 30s, I’d hold off on being serious until I met my soulmate. If it was 40s or later, then  I’d proceed as normal and see what happened. Also, a lot would depend on whether I was the only one who had this timer, or if everyone had it. Depending on this, I’d probably go to where I eventually wanted to live right when it counted down to 0:00 (like Florida). If the person was from somewhere else, they’d be in Florida at the time because they liked it too.

2) To a certain extent, we all know roughly when we’re going to die, based on average life expectancy in our respective countries. So whatever we’re doing right now is probably what we’d be doing anyway. However, if I had a shorter timer than that, I’d live differently, sure. If I was going to die in my 20s or 30s, I wouldn’t have kids. 40s, maybe in my late teens. As for a career, that would also depend on when it was. My point is that yes, I would adjust how I lived based on my timer. Even now, though, by exercising and watching what I eat, I’m pushing that timer back a few years. By quitting smoking over a decade ago, I pushed it back. By never really doing any other drugs, I pushed it back. By getting a desk job, well, I scooted it forward, dammit.

3) I can’t really answer this, because this was part of a dream I once had where a half-second before death, I went to a room where my life was all played out, and I could go back and relive any part of it, changing what I wanted to. This would, of course, lead to new branches of my life, with new experiences I could go back to. I decided to do it methodically, visiting the experiences that would cause the least amount of change. I think I died in my 90s in the dream, so I visited something from my 90s first, and gradually went back.

4) I’d visit ten years from now, and if things were bad, I’d take steps to avoid it, and if they were good, I’d take steps to embetterify it.

5) Having two of me would allow me to accomplish everything I need to accomplish – like living two lives. I would trust myself totally, because I would know, and the other me would know, that we’d be pretty unstoppable together. I’d tell my wife, who probably wouldn’t believe me unless we were both standing there together. Sex? Not up to me. Though, how would she know, unless both of us were there?

6) I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t kill anyone, just as I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t take drugs if they were suddenly made legal.  The only worry is that if other people could kill people, would I have to retaliate? Would it be like a cross between chess and the Cold War, only with millions or billions of players? Also, I’m sure that if everyone got this, boy would people be a whole lot nicer.

Enhanced by Zemanta
89 comments on “What Would You Do?

  1. behindthemaskofabuse
    January 22, 2014

    1. Stay near home

    2. Worry less about money.

    3. To my 18 year old self, to warn her not to make the choices she was making and why.

    4. To 5 years from now. It would depend on what it was like whether I’d change anything.

    5. I wouldn’t clone and I would hope a duplicate would never show up.

    6. I don’t think I could ever do that.

  2. hastywords
    January 22, 2014

    This will have to be a blog post.

    • Edward Hotspur
      January 22, 2014

      It is a blog post! Oh, you meant to answer the questions. Okay. I get it now.

  3. Trent Lewin
    January 22, 2014

    I seriously need to think about that. Stop making me think!

  4. Pingback: What Would You Do? | niennie

  5. pouringmyartout
    January 22, 2014

    1. I wouldn’t stay home… what would my wife say?
    2. I would type faster.
    3. I would go back to a week where I was just starting to fall in love.
    4. I would go forward and scare the hell out of myself.
    5. I have cloned myself.
    6. Dick Cheney.

  6. El Guapo
    January 22, 2014

    - The clock doesn’t say where I’d meet my soulmate. I’d still go wherever I could.
    – I don’t think I’d mind knowing the day I was going to die – if it was absolute, like I couldn’t die before then. Get rid of the junk, make sure my wife was prepared, that kind of thing.
    – College. I did a lot of stupid things. Some it would be nice to avoid, some it would be nice to do again!
    – Maybe a few years in the future. I don’t really care – it will go how it goes. If I did go, I’d bring back a history of stock markets and sports.
    – I have enough trouble being me. I wouldn’t inflict that anyone. Even another me.
    – I’d save it until I have a good reason (to me) to kill someone. Probably wouldn’t use it.
    Probably.

    • Edward Hotspur
      January 22, 2014

      You and PMAO are both failing number one. Don’t let your women see your answers.

      Otherwise, good ones!

      • El Guapo
        January 22, 2014

        Oh, is the question “would I wait to meet my soulmate before I travelled”?

        She already knows the answer to that would be no!

        • Edward Hotspur
          January 22, 2014

          It’s more ‘if you knew you were going to meet your soulmate, would you travel?’ implying that you’d go to a place you wanted to live, and boom, your soulmate would be there.

          Which, if you already have a wife or girlfriend, will seem like a slap in the face because you didn’t say ‘stay home’ which means ‘I’ve already FOUND her’.

          • El Guapo
            January 22, 2014

            Ah. No, I’d still travel, because she’d still have found me wherever I was.

            • Edward Hotspur
              January 22, 2014

              (good cover! whew!)

              • El Guapo
                January 22, 2014

                Nah, she’s good with it. As we are both fond of reminding each other, “Honey, I was like this before you married me”.

                • Edward Hotspur
                  January 23, 2014

                  She has had no effect on you? And vice versa?

                  • El Guapo
                    January 23, 2014

                    Of course we do. But we were fully formed adults by the time we got together. Neither of us deliberately tries to change the other.

  7. Martha Kennedy
    January 22, 2014

    1. I’d definitely move away from home. I MET my soulmate and I KNEW it but I was only 19 and my MOM said it was impossible. She was wrong (as time proved) but because I BELIEVED her, I made other choices. So, yeah, definitely MOVE AWAY from home.

    2. Having watched my dad die when he was 45, I think I already have this sense that death is imminent. I would live so that each day is meaningful and enjoyable according to whatever lights are ascendant at that moment of my life.

    3. I go back to that discussion with my mom when she persuaded me my soul mate was not my soulmate and I was too young to know what love was and I would quietly agree and move in my own direction. That’s my one regret in my life (up till now…).

    4. I’d go forward to October 15, 2014 so I’ll know if the job crisis that seems looming ever lands or if things work out OK. Then I could calm down NOW and make the right decision.

    5. I’d love having a duplicate. Then one of us could teach and one of us could write and paint or we could share the load.

    6. Yes, I kill someone, but I wouldn’t look for the opportunity. I’d just be ready if said person ever crossed my path. I’d probably hope he never did.

  8. Pingback: I AM NO MORE | hastywords

  9. benzeknees
    January 23, 2014

    1. I would carry on with my life the way it has always been because I met my soulmate 22 years ago. I would not want to miss meeting him again because even though our time together was too short, I wouldn’t trade one minute of it.
    2. I would change only one thing about my life – I would not start smoking. My time is already running down since my COPD diagnosis (it’s a really odd thing to know what will probably kill you in your 50’s & approximately when). I would still have my daughter because of all the joy she has brought me.
    3. Three is pretty much the same as 2, I would go back to the moment I thought it was cool to start smoking & give myself a huge belt up the side of the head!
    4. Since COPD is chronic & progressive, I do not want to go forward anytime. It’s bad enough now.
    5. I don’t think I’d want to clone myself. I think I would prefer to have a housekeeper drone to cook & clean for me.
    6. As much as some people have pissed me off, I would not wish anyone dead nor would I take a hand in killing them unless it was in self-defense. Life is too precious.

    • Edward Hotspur
      January 23, 2014

      Amazing answers, Benz. You bring wisdom and perspective. I’m glad you are here

      • benzeknees
        January 23, 2014

        Maybe I should have gone for funny? Sorry, this COPD thing is new to me & I’m still learning to live with it!

Say Something I'm Giving Up On You

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2014 by in Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog.

Join 4,208 other followers

Previously

Lyrical Anarchy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,208 other followers

