Funhouse!

DAILY PROMPT

Look in the mirror. Does the person you see match the person you feel like on the inside? How much stock do you put in appearances?

I looked in a mirror, but it broke. Hang on – lemme get another one.

Okay, looking again. I hear this sound like when you put ice in a drink, but it didn’t break. Anyway, I do not feel that old. I know I should, but I just don’t. I feel like parts of my life don’t count, so the years don’t count. Not for anything bad, but just because nothing really happened. Or I don’t remember them.

So I am 45 as of January 9th. Yeah, I can’t believe it either. “He’s so immature! He’s got to be kidding.” Yes, and no. Yes, I can be immature sometimes, you big doodiehead, but sometimes I can be serious and stern. I think what I do is modular. I’m ‘me’, right, but the interface I use can be changed to suit my mood, or the situation, or whatever. I can be fun and silly guy, I can be ‘drunk guy’, I can be ‘FUCK THIS FUCKING FUCK!’ guy, and everything in between.

I cannot be ‘Nickelback rules!’ guy.

What the hell does this have to do with the mirror? I don’t worry much about the mirror, other than ensuring I don’t have things in my teeth or nose. Of course, it helps that I’m a guy so I don’t have to worry about makeup and stuff, but I haven’t touched a hair dryer in 25 years, and I have made sure of what I’m wearing – safe, boring, yes, but mostly professional – the night before, usually. That was a compound sentence! I love those things.

Anyway, when I look in the mirror, I check the hair for about 10 seconds, the teeth/nose thing for 10, and maybe the eyes for redness, but that’s about it. I know what my clothes will look like – though I do look in the mirror for tying a tie. I’m neither flashy nor sloppy. My hairstyle is neither dated nor futuristic. I’m very low maintenance.

I might notice that my hair doesn’t look as good today as yesterday, or something, but I also know that literally every time someone tells me they don’t look as good today as yesterday, I honestly can’t really tell the difference. Therefore, I figure other people must view me the same way. That helps me not to worry about it.

So to answer the questions, I feel fine with myself, everything pretty much matches, though the degree to which I look younger than my actual age is slowly shrinking, and I put stock in my appearance well in advance of having to worry about it by choosing certain clothes and a certain hairstyle.

Edward Hotspur

Mirror, Mirror, on the wall….

  1. The Mirrored Self | The Magic Black Book
  2. Fishing | The Jittery Goat
  3. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Under the Monkey Tree
  4. Daily prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Wandering Poet
  5. They tell a different story | Hope* the happy hugger
  6. Insanity | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  7. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror « cognitive reflection
  8. Daily Prompt: Mirror Mirror | Thoughts of an INFP
  9. Infinity Pool | Exploratorius | Photo Hack & Curious Wanderer
  10. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  11. of rituals « Anawnimiss
  12. I Have a Secret, I am Superman – Daily prompt: Mirrored | Eikons
  13. The Many Masks We Wear | Rose-tinted Rambles
  14. Dolomiten Spiegelungen | Foto Challenge
  15. DP Daily Prompt: Mirror,Mirror | Sabethville
  16. Daily Prompt: mirror mirror | Attempted Human Relations and Self
  17. She stole my face | writemybrainsout
  18. Mirror, Mirror: You’re always Exotic Somewhere « psychologistmimi
  19. Mirror, mirror | Sue’s Trifles
  20. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  21. Now and then I will make an effort to deal with the current mug… | thoughtsofrkh
  22. Naked Selfie | 365 days of defiance
  23. Mirror Mirror – Daily Prompt « My journey to qualify for the Boston Marathon…and everything in between…
  24. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Awl and Scribe
  25. Look away and I will be gone | Vampire Maman
  26. Skinny bashing. | jaguarsden
  27. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | “The Ish,” presented by the Bohemian Rock Star
  28. Beauty is in the Eye of the Beholder | marjanitalarosa
  29. Daily Prompt: Mirror Mirror: What have you done with the girl I used to be? | storyofmylife1993
  30. Daily Prompt: More Than Skin Deep | One Starving Activist
  31. Daily Prompt: Mirror Mirror | Elizabeth Melton Parsons
  32. Daily Prompt: Mirror Mirror on the Wall | 2far2shout
  33. A Russian Doll of masks: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  34. Daily prompt: Unexpected | Stories from aside
  35. Hairball | Wanderlein
  36. Looking At Myself | Living and Lovin
  37. Mirror, Mirror | The Nameless One
  38. Looking in the Mirror «
  39. A stranger stared back at me. | Kate Murray
  40. Anonymous
  41. Daily Prompt: Mirrored | Lostinthot
  42. Is that you? | Dance with the Rain
  43. The reflection | Raspberry’s Daydreams
  44. Mirror, Mirror – Passionately Bored
  45. 7 Years of Bad Luck | We Don’t Do Easy
  46. My soul in the mirror | Busy Mind Thinking
  47. Mirror, Mirror | Tommia’s Tablet
  48. The First Person | 52 Miles per Month
  49. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | The Understreets
  50. Mirror, Mirror | A Good One
  51. Mirror, Mirror | Geek Ergo Sum
  52. Through the eyes of others… | alienorajt
  53. Mirror, Mirror On The Wall | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  54. Appearances and a Ruddy, Handsome Tender of Sheep | meanderedwanderings
  55. evil | not4faintheartsblog
  56. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  57. Mirror of Awakening | Buzzy Beez Giftz
  58. Through The Looking Glass | Just Visiting This Planet
  59. FOREVER FLAWED | hastywords
  60. S. Thomas Summers | Mirror, Mirror…A Writer’s Curse/Blessing
  61. Mirro Mirror on the Wall… | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  62. Mirror, Mirror | The Writings of Selene Zuni
  63. Mirror Mirror on the Wall… | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  64. Mirrored: People Are Like Telephones | A Really Full Life
  65. Body Image and Stuff | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  66. What do you see… | My Top Fives…
  67. Oh, I Cry Over Spilt Milk
  68. I am who I am | Life Love Lily
  69. Who’s That Girl | The Migraine Chronicles
  70. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | niennie
  71. M’s Little Pieces | Charron’s Chatter
  72. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Two descriptions of a same person | IvyMosquito
  73. The mirror is not my friend. | Tales of a slightly stressed Mother!
  74. Mirrored- | Randomlyabstract’s Blog
  75. My Bare Face | Scribbled Posts
  76. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Polyprotic Amory
  77. Mirror, Mirror: Appearance Matters More Than Talent | I Have an Interesting fact Fetish, and I Can’t Stop
  78. passion within | sarahscapes
  79. Daily Prompt: The New Me | A shot of espresso.
  80. How Do I Look? | The Enchanted Mind
  81. Daily Prompt – Mirrored – The wisdom lines. | Its all about a bit of this and that.
  82. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Basically Beyond Basic
  83. Hey That’s Me! | Read Me
  84. The Clash/Daily Prompt, Mirrors | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  85. Of mirrors and reflections | Concentrate On Yourself
  86. My reflection is confusing | Claud’s Ramblings
  87. MIRRORED IMAGES | Serendipity
  88. Visualizing a different you | Emotional Fitness
  89. Who’s the Most EVERYTHING of them all? | The Best Life
  90. Mirror, Mirror:rorriM ,rorriM | Khana’s Web
  91. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Being a Huntress
  92. Inside Looking Out | Finale to an Entrance
  93. Reflection | Real Life Co.
  94. Mirrors…Judgey McJudgertons | Unlocking The Inner Creative
  95. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | MARGARET ROSE STRINGER
  96. Daily Prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Braxtyn Files
  97. Mirror, Mirror | Non-runner’s Guide to Becoming a Half-Marathoner
  98. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Breathe Deep, Darling
  99. Rehearsal | Grace Under Fire
  100. Reflecting | Not a Punk Rocker

55 thoughts on “Funhouse!

  1. Yer a madman! How delightful! Haven’t found one for ages. Follow this blog or I’ll mail you kitten recipes? – definitely something wrong in there. [grin] Love your humour. Don’t think I go the poetry route.

    • That’s a shame really. I’m such a poetry mouth. But thank you!

      That’s on the other blog, anyway. There’s a picture of a woman in an evening gown – that’s Lyrical Anarchy. And that blog has a picture of the Gazette that brings you back here.

      If you really want some fun, try my Choose Your Own Blog Adventure. It’s exactly what it sounds. Posts with links to other posts, and you choose where you go next

  2. The professor is shocked when he looks in the mirror so he never does it not good for the ego. He rather know he’s unbelievably handsome and leave it at that… Having a Punchyish nature keeps those aging attributes at bay too did you know?

  3. We’re all of a certain age. What’s up with that.
    Half the time I look in the mirror, I’m surprised at who’s looking back.
    Mostly because I often confuse the mirror for my neighbors window.

  4. Pingback: of rituals « Anawnimiss
  5. I had always assumed you were a young whipper-snapper in your twenties! Well well! You and I share a birthday, by the way – but not, it has to be confessed, a birth year: I am far older! Alienora

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror – WHAT YOU LOOKIN’ AT? | Phoenix Fights
  7. Pingback: I wanna eat french fries | I am Lynn
  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  9. Pingback: Daily prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Wandering Poet
  10. Pingback: FOREVER FLAWED | hastywords
  11. Pingback: Always The Bridesmaid, Never The Bride | Pinstripes&Lipgloss
  12. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror | The Hickey Diaries
  13. Pingback: Mirror, mirror | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl
  14. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With Alex Hicks – “Silhouette of Distortion” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)
  15. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror: You’re always Exotic Somewhere « psychologistmimi

Say Something I'm Giving Up On You

