Edward Hotspur

The Official WordPress Blog Of Edward Hotspur – whoever that is.

Does Anyone Know What Happened To Zemanta?

I used it fairly recently, and it was there, but now it’s not. It doesn’t appear at the lower right of my posts anymore. I did nothing to get rid of it. So does anyone know what happened to Zemanta, which suggested other related posts/photos? Or, if you know how, can you help me out and tell me how to “reconnect” it?

Thanks,

Edward Hotspur

Update: It turns out that all you have to do is hit ALT and F4 right when you’re about to publish, and the Zemanta window comes up.

74 comments on “Does Anyone Know What Happened To Zemanta?

  1. jamborobyn
    January 4, 2014

    She’s gone – I spent all yesterday looking for it. This morning I found a support article with a response from WordPress.com, they have disabled it and are looking to provide the same functionality via some other mechanism, at some stage.

      • Edward Hotspur
        January 4, 2014

        Ahhhhh, thanks! And I noticed that in place of it, WP just picks three of your own posts with similar tags or categories.

        • jamborobyn
          January 4, 2014

          Yep, it’s gay. There are other options but they require more legwork to track down related content.

          • Edward Hotspur
            January 4, 2014

            They probably should have gotten the replacement up before taking down the thing.

            • jamborobyn
              January 4, 2014

              First they need to reduce expectations, so that anything will be better than nothing.

              • Edward Hotspur
                January 4, 2014

                Wow, you haz tha cynicalz. But you’re probably right. I’m not ready to bite the hand that feeds me yet, though.

                • jamborobyn
                  January 4, 2014

                  I’ll get over it, but so much time has been wasted by lots of people trying to figure out what went wrong. No need for that. The support article talks about the change as though it is in the future, however, it was posted the day after disabling the plugin.

                  On the positive side, I have discovered lots of new places to look and lots of interesting articles and free images. But if I was paying extra for the advanced features of WordPress.com, I would be significantly more annoyed.

            • jamborobyn
              January 4, 2014

              Can you tell I’m slightly peeved?

          • Todd Sawicki
            January 5, 2014

            It wasn’t our decision (I’m from Zemanta) but you can still use Zemanta with WP.com by using our browser plugin – all you have to do is go to http://zemanta.com/download and you will be up and running again. Sorry for any inconvenience and thanks for missing us!

            • Edward Hotspur
              January 5, 2014

              I actually downloaded that, but was waiting to ask serious questions and make dumb jokes before I installed it. Also, it seemed to be a program rather than a browser add-on. It appeared at WordPress.org, which is somehow different from WP.com.

  2. pouringmyartout
    January 4, 2014

    I didn’t touch your Zemanta…

  3. Todd Sawicki
    January 5, 2014

    As I posted in reply to @jamborobyn – we’re sorry for the inconvenience (tho it was not our decision to remove our product from WP.com). However, you can still use Zemanta with WP.com – you just need to use our browser plugin available here: http://zemanta.com/download. Thanks for missing us and glad you like the product.

  4. zemanta
    January 6, 2014

    Thanks for jumping in Todd! :)

    And please do let me know how it goes or if you have any more questions what-so-ever, since I’ll be more than glad to help you out!

    Here’s my email address: support[at]zemanta[dot]com

    Take care & I’m looking forward to your reply!

    Best,
    Silvo

    • Edward Hotspur
      January 6, 2014

      It seems to work exactly as it did before, so that’s cool. Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Challenge: Solved | Edward Hotspur

  6. Pingback: Zemanta Add-on | Edward Hotspur

  7. Rob's Surf Report
    January 10, 2014

    Wow, yeah this stinks. I have to do all that manually now? Thanks, WordPress!

    • Edward Hotspur
      January 10, 2014

      It is a little add on in your browser. No biggie.

      • Rob's Surf Report
        January 10, 2014

        What do you mean?

        • Edward Hotspur
          January 10, 2014

          Zemanta.

          • Rob's Surf Report
            January 11, 2014

            Well yeah, are you saying wordpress dropped it and so you use a plugin instead? That’s what I’m asking because I didn’t know there was one.

            • Edward Hotspur
              January 11, 2014

              Oh. Yes, that’s what I’m saying. Or, to be exact, what the person a few comments up is saying. And it works more or less the same.

  8. smkelly8
    January 14, 2014

    Reblogged this on Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition and commented:
    I miss Zemanta. WordPress, what going on? Why are you fiddling around with your service?

  9. Pingback: sigisite

Say Something I'm Giving Up On You

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2014 by in Current Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog.

Join 4,209 other followers

Previously

Lyrical Anarchy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,209 other followers

