Edward Hotspur

The Official WordPress Blog Of Edward Hotspur – whoever that is.

Slam – A Daily Prompt Post

imagenes_goth_5811

This is a Daily Prompt post that will freak you out. Or not.

Write about anything you’d like. Somewhere in your post, include the sentence, “I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.”

The sky grew dark as I pulled up to the house. There was only one car here already. Just the one. The clouds were moving quickly across the sky, as though they were late for an appointment on the other side of the country. Strangely, the wind wasn’t strong down here on the ground.

I thought I heard another car pull up – an electric car, it turned out. I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock. It was time. I got out, closing my door quietly as I did. She was walking towards me, slowly, but she stopped at the sidewalk, turned, and walked towards the house. I followed her.

She waited for me on the porch at the top of the stairs. I looked at her wistfully, or as full of wist as I could muster, given the circumstances. I shook her hand and held the door for her as we both walked inside. There were already a few people in the library of the house, waiting anxiously for this whole thing to start. They all looked as sad and somber as I imagined they would.

“Ah, Mr. Fruitrollup, Ms. Butterball. Glad you could join us. Please take one of these each out of the box. Or, each of you take one of these out of the box, and put it on, please.” We did as he instructed. After all, he was the ringmaster.

“We are all gathered here today to celebrate the life of a man who was a part of all of us. Not in a cannibalistic way! No, not that. But in our hearts and minds. And we will mourn his death as we celebrated his life. With happiness. That’s what he would have wanted. At least, according to this letter he wrote me six years ago. It says :

Dear Ringmaster,

If I die, have a party. It’s what I want. Celebrate my death with happiness. Not happiness that I’m dead, but happiness that we are a big family, who love and support each other. To repeat, mourn my death with happiness. Have a party! And just so it’s clear, I will the car to Mr. Fruitrollup. He’s my son. A long time ago, Shalala Boomdier the Freak on a Trapeze and I had a thing, and he was our son. We didn’t tell anyone because we forgot. Oops! We got so busy! But I think he knows, because he’s called me Dad his entire life. Okay, I’m on the toilet and it’s time to wipe, so I’m ending this letter.

Love,

Bajingo The Clown

Everyone looked at me then. I took Ms. Butterball by the hand and planted a huge smackerel right on her lips. She smiled, but her lips still shocked me a little bit. I knew she loved me by how much restraint she was showing – my hair wasn’t even standing on end. I looked at everyone, smiled, and waved for them to follow me.

We poured out of the house and went right to the car. I proudly held the door open as everyone got in. Yes, everyone. All 25 people. It was that kind of car. And I held the front door open for Ms. Butterball. She was positively beaming, by which I mean light was streaming off of her skin. I walked around the car, got in the driver’s seat, started it up, and revved the engine. I put it in gear, stepped on the gas, and on we drove into the next century.

Edward Hotspur

  1. Daily Prompt: The Clock… digital awakenings | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34
  2. The Clock Test | The Chatter Blog
  3. Tick Tock. | Hope* the happy hugger
  4. The Counting… | Yeahthtsme
  5. Ulysse « Spunky Wayfarer
  6. Daily Prompt: The Clock « Completely Disappear
  7. The Unbearable Burden of Beauty | Rolbos ©
  8. Time To Rewrite (Short story) | The Jittery Goat
  9. Daily Prompt: The Clock « Mama Bear Musings
  10. Daily Prompt: The Clock « JUkk
20 comments on “Slam – A Daily Prompt Post

  1. Pingback: Slam – A Daily Prompt Post « Mama Bear Musings

  2. TammyeHoney
    February 16, 2013

    Loved your story and thank you for the ping-back

  3. sassyfrassylassy
    February 16, 2013

    I laughed out loud three times. All in the last two paragraphs.

    • Edward Hotspur
      February 16, 2013

      That’s great! I thought I was going to write a dark story, but then I just didn’t.

      • sassyfrassylassy
        February 16, 2013

        It was funny dark.

        My favorite line…

        “I knew she loved me by how much restraint she was showing – my hair wasn’t even standing on end.”

        Hilarity. ;)

  4. terry1954
    February 16, 2013

    good job!!!! thanks for the ping back!

  5. deanabo
    February 16, 2013

    This is terrific! I so enjoy your work.

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clock | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clock | The Daily Post – waldina

  8. jenlefeverwood
    February 16, 2013

    Truly entertaining!! ~J

  9. Pingback: Time To Rewrite (Short story) | The Jittery Goat

  10. Polysyllabic Profundities
    February 16, 2013

    More of the wondrous workings of your inner mind – always entertaining!!

  11. Pingback: Dead lines | polysyllabic profundities

  12. Pingback: Time | Misifusa's Blog

  13. Pingback: The Clock Test | The Chatter Blog

  14. pouringmyartout
    February 16, 2013

    You can freak me out and make me laugh at the same time, which plays havoc with my digestive system, and make me make a sort of strangled gurgling noise… but I don’t mind if you don’t.

  15. benzeknees
    February 17, 2013

    Love the pic! PMAO wants me to grow a beard, so do you have room for 1 more in the car?

  16. Pingback: In the afternoon « thelissachronicles

Say Something I'm Giving Up On You

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2013 by in Daily Prompt, Story and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog.

Join 4,082 other followers

Previously

Lyrical Anarchy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,082 other followers

