Edward Hotspur

The Official WordPress Blog Of Edward Hotspur – whoever that is.

Don’t Leave Me! – A Daily Prompt Post

2012-06-13_00-26-22_347Oh, Daily Prompt - you so silly. The ideas you have, so sassy crazy cool. Like this one:

What’s the most time you’ve ever spent apart from your favorite person? Tell us about it.

Every year for quite a while, sometimes twice a year, my wife has taken the kids and gone to visit her sister. The longest this has happened is for ten days. And this is what happens every single time:

  1. I think about the chore, task, job, etc. that I have to do while everyone is gone. Remodel the bathroom, redo the patio, spray the yard, paint the kitchen, fix the roof, etc. etc., all sorts of things.
  2. Day One: They’re gone. YEAH! *fist pump* A week to myself! Man, this is gonna be fun!
  3. Day One, later that day: I miss you guys so much. It’s lonely. That reminds me of you, honey. There’s something that reminds me of you kids. There’s that other thing that reminds me of….
  4. Day Two-Five: Run around and do the chore I meant to do. Change the plan, my mind, the color, style, approach, materials, etc., about a million times. Take pictures to send to the wife. Get feedback. Change the plan, my mind, the color, style, approach, materials, etc., back to what we agreed on, given certain mild approved changes.
  5. Days >Five: Talk on the phone about how much I miss them and can’t wait to see them all. Do not talk about how I’m still technically working on the plan, and will still be working on it up to 5 minutes before they get here.
  6. They get back. I am so happy.
  7. Do something with the kids. They go to bed.
  8. Do something with the wife. [censored]

Yeah, remodeling the bathroom was what I did the last time they all left. It was sad to see the last model go, but you know, sometimes you just have to go with a different model. This time, I chose Alessandra Ambrosio. She’s been in the bathroom since June, and we couldn’t be happier.

Edward Hotspur

31 comments on “Don’t Leave Me! – A Daily Prompt Post

  1. El Guapo
    January 6, 2013

    I end up doing the weeks worth of dish accumulation in the last half hour before she gets back.

    • Edward Hotspur
      January 6, 2013

      I am one who loves to have a clean kitchen, so I do all the dishes first thing once they leave, and you can’t even tell that anyone eats there all week.

    • Polysyllabic Profundities
      January 6, 2013

      At least you do them!! My ex used to hide them in the oven!!

      • Edward Hotspur
        January 6, 2013

        Shameless! I’d never do that.

        • Polysyllabic Profundities
          January 6, 2013

          Now it is very understandable why he is my ex!

          • Edward Hotspur
            January 6, 2013

            Ah, that’s true.

            • Polysyllabic Profundities
              January 6, 2013

              Your ears must be burning, or your cheeks blushing…… Cheekydiva and I are just professing our adoration for you.

              • Edward Hotspur
                January 6, 2013

                Nuh-uh…. are not….no way!

                • Polysyllabic Profundities
                  January 6, 2013

                  Dude…..totally!! Do they make pills for this??

                  • Edward Hotspur
                    January 6, 2013

                    Pills for what? What? What do they make pills for? Huh? What are you talking about with Cheeky Diva? How annoyingly sarcastic I am? How I make up words as I go alongitudinalgerian?

                    • Polysyllabic Profundities
                      January 6, 2013

                      Bless you….that must have hurt coming out. Maybe your sarcasm is what I appreciate the most….hmmmm….ever thought of that? I’m one of those weirdos that digs sarcasm…..or it could be your beautiful poems. I’m torn.

                    • Edward Hotspur
                      January 6, 2013

                      The love that is like the rose with no thorns, or like the feather that floats on air, never touching the ground, or some shit like that.

                    • Polysyllabic Profundities
                      January 6, 2013

                      I’m swooning…..somebody stop me!!

  2. Shackled and Crowned
    January 6, 2013

    Fantastic, Edward. Lol!
    Love this, it made me smile BIG!

  3. Polysyllabic Profundities
    January 6, 2013

    Your unending brilliance and humor astound me!! (And the fact that you’re a little off-centre, which only makes you more appealing!!)

  4. wildthing
    January 6, 2013

    Made me chuckle :)

  5. pouringmyartout
    January 6, 2013

    We sort of have a lot in common. I am happy for about a day when I am on my own. Then I get sad. Then I think about models. It doesn’t help. But I never thought of keeping one in the bathroom, so you win this round. Well played.

    • Edward Hotspur
      January 6, 2013

      Most models are not attractive, to be honest.

      • pouringmyartout
        January 6, 2013

        I never went for the model type. But you still haven’t made fun of me for modeling my new Christmas jammies…

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: My Favorite Grandchildren | My Blog

  7. benzeknees
    January 8, 2013

    In our 2nd year together hubby & I were apart for 3 weeks out of every month for about 8 months. He had to commute to Wpg. to help a friend who was an accountant try to run the business of hubby’s former business partner after the business partner died. I lived in a tiny town in the middle of the bush. I would happily live alone for the 3 weeks he was gone & rush around like a chicken with my head cut off the day before he was due back to make sure the house looked like he expected it would.

    • Edward Hotspur
      January 8, 2013

      Awww… I bet you missed him terribly.

      • benzeknees
        January 8, 2013

        Even then, not so much. Hubby has always been a bit of a nag, so I enjoy alone time. Mind you, I have always liked being alone my whole life – just don’t like being lonely (which is a matter of attitude most of the time).

        • Edward Hotspur
          January 8, 2013

          That is so true, and I agree. Alone is delicious, but lonely sucks.

Say Something I'm Giving Up On You

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2013 by in Cool, Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog.

Join 4,291 other followers

I Voted

Previously

Lyrical Anarchy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,291 other followers

