Edward Hotspur

The Official WordPress Blog Of Edward Hotspur – whoever that is.

Word Art With Life In Letters

While surfing Craigslist, I saw an ad for a patio chair from Life In Letters.  This is a new store that opened up at the Greene. I had never heard of it before, so I checked it out. This is a really great idea!  I’m not sure I can show you anything, because all the tools are Flash-based. But the idea is that you spell words, words that mean a lot to you, words that symbolize something important or cool or whatever, and then they take the word and mount it, frame it, and give it to you. For money, of course. The thing about the letters is, they’re comprised of everyday objects that look like the letters, in whole or in part. For example, the back of a chair might look like an H. I did one of my name, and this is what appeared as a start:

H – Inside of some kind of brace
O – Speedometer of a sports car
T – Totem pole
S – An S brace. Cheating a little, lol.
P – I’m not sure. It could be the windows of a building.
U – Bike rack
R – Part of the arch of a building

The thing is, these are by no means the only choices. It immediately put up more than 20 other choices for the H, and I’m pretty sure they have more choices for lower-case letters. You also choose your background texture and color, your frame material, color and style, and of course, the size. The link above will show you how a guy comes in and orders one that says HOPE, and the worker gets the letters, gets the frame and cuts it, then assembles it, then mounts the support, then puts the letters on. It’s a cool idea. Even cooler is that on the web site, it is possible for you to upload your own letters. Then you could order it done totally with your own ideas, colors, etc. I just checked, and you can order these online and have them shipped to you. Kinda spendy, but if you’re into it, good idea.

I have no connection to these people and I’m not making anything from it. I just thought it was a happy accident, and I’m sharing it.

By the way, these letters can be printed on mugs and a whole bunch of other things too.

Edward Hotspur

11 comments on “Word Art With Life In Letters

  1. hastywords
    December 13, 2012

    I have seen these before and it really is an awesome idea!

    • Edward Hotspur
      December 13, 2012

      Don’t tell them, but I’m sure letters exist everywhere…

  2. pouringmyartout
    December 13, 2012

    I have seen those letter things at our mall. I always liked them. I know I am always doing this to you, but it is because I value your opinion… please check out the original song I posted called Walls Of Stone. I am proud of the lyrics, and I just can’t rest until I know what you think…

  3. jsticlife
    December 13, 2012

    That is quite a serendipitous find! I was just talking about this type of art and how much I’d like a piece like this in my home! Thanks :)

  4. ApplePieAndNapalm
    December 13, 2012

    What a great idea, I haven’t seen anything like that offered around here.

  5. benzeknees
    December 15, 2012

    I think this would be great as a gift (maybe a wedding gift) with a couple’s name on it or a housewarming gift.

    • Edward Hotspur
      December 15, 2012

      Especially if it could somehow be made using pictures of items nostalgic and sentimental to the couple.

Say Something I'm Giving Up On You

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2012 by in Cool, Did You Know?, Life, Opinion, Photography, Serious, Writing and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog.

Join 3,976 other followers

Previously

Lyrical Anarchy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,976 other followers

