Edward Hotspur

The Official WordPress Blog Of Edward Hotspur – whoever that is.

Bittersweet Perfection – A Rainy Romantic Monday Post

Welcome all to the Third

Romantic Monday!

Scroll to the bottom for some incredible Romantic Monday posts!

Visit Romantic Mondays past, but not forgotten.

*Eternal Beloved – A Romantic Monday Post
*Til Death Do We Part – A Haunting Romantic Monday Post

There were some amazing post in the last two weeks! The best part is always that they have totally different ideas about Romance – proving that you shouldn’t hold back your passion in Romance. Read this post and all the posts below, and get in the spirit of Romantic Monday. Maybe you’ll be inspired? To write or… to perform…

If you want to participate today, here’s what you do:  Write a blog post that celebrates Romance! Your post can be a poem, a photo collage, a video, a fictional story, a story about that special someone, an anniversary or date you had, a lament for a lost love, or some combination of these – it can even be sexy, erotic, dark or Gorean. The only rule is that it has to be Romantic! Leave a comment with a link to your romantic post, and I’ll link to it at the bottom of this post, and perhaps everyone will link to them. Be sure to use Romantic Monday as a tag. We’ll make Romance last!

Romantic Monday logos to add to your post!

Bittersweet Perfection

He showed up at her door with flowers, candles, champagne, perfume – the whole Impressive First Date Kit.  He was nervous, because he had anticipated this day for many weeks, and wanted everything to be just right.  It was all he could do not to let the anxiety wash over him from the memory of how long he had worked up the nerve to ask her out. Patiently discovering her likes and loves, and actually listening to her. Asking other people about her. Not stalking her, but simply… being where she was. It was a lot of work, and he hoped it would pay off tonight with a second date.
He knocked as he had practiced, just hard enough to be serious, but not annoyingly so, and not so soft that he had to repeat it. And then he waited. Thirty seconds later, the door opened, and he was already smiling. She was even more beautiful tonight than the image of her he had burned in his mind.  And he burned a new image as he showed her what he had brought. With each new thing, she was delighted over again, astonished that he somehow knew her, knew what she liked. She couldn’t stop smiling. He couldn’t stop smiling. She invited him inside.
They talked for a while as she put the flowers in some water and the champagne in the refrigerator to chill. She held the perfume to him, inviting him to spray her, trusting that she would like the scent and that he would put on just the right amount. He did just that, causing them both to smile yet again. He set down the bottle and took her hand, and after staring into her eyes, they left.
He opened the door for her and helped her get in, and she returned the favor by unlocking his door. He got in and started the car, and suddenly her favorite song started playing. That earned him a quick peck on the cheek. He smiled and drove them to her favorite restaurant, where he had reserved a table weeks before, a table in a secluded little alcove of the restaurant. The service was impeccable, and absolutely nothing was wrong. He did not presume to order for her, but he still knew what she would order for herself, and told her so. He ordered a bottle of her favorite kind of wine, a pinot grigio, and despite her unfamiliarity with the label, she loved it. She was charmed by him – he had obviously prepared for this night, and she did indeed feel very special.
They attended a play with just the right ambiance and style – a romance – and the experience was uplifting and tranquil. She didn’t usually attend plays, but he knew she would like this one because it was based on one of her favorite books.  He felt excited and happy to be with her. During intermission, she surprised him by ordering him a drink that he had never tried but absolutely loved. And it was his turn to feel special, because she had learned a few things about him in the past few weeks as well. They went to a bookstore after the play, and she bought him a book that she knew he would like.
It was time to take her home, but not time for the end, because they still had the champagne and candles. He opened the champagne while she lit the candles, and they met at the dining room table where he handed her a glass. They talked about a great many things, growing closer and closer, and loosening their inhibitions a little more with each spoken word. It got to that golden moment where he would have to leave or she would have to ask him to stay. But these simple choices would not do for them – they found a third way, and with a silent and sensuous kiss, they led each other to the bedroom. They stripped each other, and made sweet sensuous love for as long as they could stand it. It was truly the perfect ending to a perfect date. Everything fell into place, the stars were aligned, the gods smiled, and many other things besides.
The next morning he kissed her passionately before coffee, and with one last parting kiss he got in his car to leave. He played with his wedding band, and thought about his wife, who had been on vacation and was coming back that day. As he drove away, he didn’t notice the other car pulling into the driveway. It was her husband, back from a business trip.

Edward Hotspur

Also read these Romantic Monday posts:

Gin and Tulips – The Mermaid

Frederique – Romance

Suzy – Romantic

Hastywords and Hotspur – Your Love Is Like…

Mimsy – Come Drink My Coffee

Sheila – Yes

Suzy – Teaching

Gin and Tulips – Uncurl Me

Antoinette – The Dog Park, Part 1

The Cheeky Diva – The Bonfire Effect: Chapter 3-The Dance Of Destiny

Lizzie – The Drawing

Hellis – Ode to Erik Estrada

Daydreamdaisies – The Creator

Bipolarmuse – Utopia

NightSyde – Where He Ends And She Begins

Pouring My Art Out – Perfect Dream

Red – Bittersweet

Nicole – Age Ain’t Nothin’ But A Number

Old Dog New Tits – Liquid Plumber Has Never Looked Sexier

Mags – The Dinner Date

Hastywords – A Weekend Romance

Benzeknees – Romantic Monday III

78 comments on “Bittersweet Perfection – A Rainy Romantic Monday Post

  1. lizziecracked
    November 5, 2012

    I was reading this thinking how I miss love.and beginning of it the butterfly part oh thats lust -. hey you nailed the romance part… . anyways..and weird as this may be,, I am glad you ended it that way cause I didn’t want to mope all day…it was perfect like a bucket of cold water … definitely didn’t see it coming until I felt it. I was thinking .. oh something sad even before I got to the car coming the other way (cause isn;t that where you are maybe wanting people to think something else until you whack em with the reality? ) that you were gonna kill him off and .. I woulda been mopey. Possibly something whacked about me that I felt relief at the ending..which still is just so wrong but…at least I won’y be mopey. I ‘ll be back with my link.. in a bit..

  2. Pingback: Romantic Monday – Ode To Erik Estrada « H.E. ELLIS

  3. H.E. ELLIS
    November 5, 2012

    I think I’ve read this before. I seem to remember really liking it the first time too.

    • Edward Hotspur
      November 5, 2012

      Yes, I have posted the story before, but it seemed to fit. I had forgotten about it. Jesus, Hellis, I’m coming up on 1000 posts!

  4. thecheekydiva
    November 5, 2012

    Happy Romantical Monday! Here’s mine~

    http://wp.me/p2BTAP-Gf

  5. sheilapierson
    November 5, 2012

    Enjoyed the romance, the passion and then I actually liked how you brought us back around to reality. And, thanks so much for mentioning my poem :)

    • Edward Hotspur
      November 5, 2012

      You are welcome! Thank you for writing it. And thank you for your nice words.

  6. daydreamdaisies
    November 5, 2012

    Wow, I loved this. I liked the ending too, I thought it was going to be a carcrash that made it bittersweet but your choice was much better, it really left the tension lingering on! Like, I want to know what’s going to happen next.
    Also, voilà! Here is my this weeks Romantic Monday blurt:

    http://daydreamdaisies.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/romantic-monday-the-creator/

    • Edward Hotspur
      November 5, 2012

      I didn’t mean to mislead people… I never thought of the possibility people might be relieved that it’s an affair instead of a death.

      But thank you for your kind words! And I will link your post once I get home. In the meantime, everyone read her post!

      • daydreamdaisies
        November 5, 2012

        I know, what a horrible thing to be relieved about. But then, if it’s an affair there is four people who love, maybe just not all each other. And surely four people who love is better than death?
        And thank you!

        • Edward Hotspur
          November 5, 2012

          Yes, I suppose that’s true – even if they aren’t all in love with each other.

  7. Pingback: Romantic Monday: The creator « daydreamdaisies

  8. Pingback: YOUR LOVE IS LIKE… « hastywords

  9. sandylikeabeach
    November 5, 2012

    Like Hellis, I remembered this from the first time you shared it. And it was just as great the second time around!

    • Edward Hotspur
      November 5, 2012

      I am amazed that people remember the things I’ve written before. And flattered. Thank you, Sandy.

  10. thenightsyde
    November 5, 2012

    My post is rather late unfortunately, but I thought I would link it here anyways :)

    http://monarcenciel.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/where-he-ends-and-she-begins/

    • Edward Hotspur
      November 5, 2012

      It’s not late! And everyone, go read it! I’m on a WP app on my phone, but I’ll link it in the post when I get home. I forget sometimes that a huge chunk of my audience start their days in the wee hours of my morning.

      • thenightsyde
        November 6, 2012

        Hahaha thank you for that! I’m glad I made it! :D

  11. thenightsyde
    November 5, 2012

    Also also also I adore your piece! :D
    Can’t wait to check all the others out tomorrow!

  12. pouringmyartout
    November 5, 2012

    I did a love song… with no pictures of me… do I do my own link or do you do it? Now tell me what you think. I think the sound is a little better.

    • Edward Hotspur
      November 5, 2012

      Copy the link and put it in the comments, so people can crank it up! And I’ll put the link in the post itself later, and on the Romantic Monday tingling afterglow page.

  13. Pingback: Romantic Monday Bonus Post! « The Cheeky Diva

  14. Pingback: Romantic MDay – The Drawing | Running Naked With Scissors

  15. pouringmyartout
    November 5, 2012

    http://pouringmyartout.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/another-song-by-me-2/

    I am supposed to link to my song… but I have no idea how… because I am a computer moron… So I doubt that worked… and there is really two posts on my blog, one to explain and one of the song, which is what I pasted right there… oh, never mind.

  16. pouringmyartout
    November 5, 2012

    Hey, maybe it did work… who said I was a computer moro…oh…wait…never mind…

  17. Pingback: Bittersweet | Momma's Money Matters

  18. Nicole Marie
    November 5, 2012

    You just tore my heart out, jerk!

    Kidding, I really liked this. So sad and happy and sometimes very true.

    • Edward Hotspur
      November 5, 2012

      Lol… my phone shows the first line and I was like “at least they didn’t die!” Thank you, Nicole. I would never tear your heart out. Not even if I was a zombie, because brains.

      • Nicole Marie
        November 5, 2012

        Thank you, Edward. I do have lots of brains to offer.

        • Edward Hotspur
          November 5, 2012

          Yes you do – and that’s one of the reasons I like you.

  19. Pingback: For my lovely wife Cherilyn… « Pouring My Art Out

  20. OldDogNewTits
    November 5, 2012

    Happy Romantic Monday. Here’s my take on things today … http://olddognewtits.com/2012/11/05/liquid-plumber-has-never-looked-sexier/

  21. Mel
    November 5, 2012
  22. Red
    November 5, 2012

    I was certain I had liked when I called ’round the first go. Apparently, I remain on the WP spankies list for some inane infraction.

    I am quite certain my readership will endorse the continued effort. I suppose here ends my official stalkerdom.
    Red.

    • Edward Hotspur
      November 5, 2012

      You can just stalk me overtly.”I’m stalking you, Hotspur – what are you going to do about it?” That sort of thing.

      • Red
        November 5, 2012

        My “nanny nanny boo boo” is a mite out of practice ;)

        • Edward Hotspur
          November 5, 2012

          How about glowering? Or the infamous stink eye?

          Or, just continue to write your wonderful stuff.

          • Red
            November 5, 2012

            I have a wickedly arched left brow. Will that suffice?

          • Edward Hotspur
            November 5, 2012

            Brilliant! I can feel the trepidation already.

          • Red
            November 5, 2012

            I think had you read my other entry for today, you may well see why this is really outside my modus operandum.

          • Edward Hotspur
            November 5, 2012

            But, I read this one, so I think it has been incorporated. You are now a writer of romance!

          • Red
            November 5, 2012

            Does the hat fit funny? I am persnickety about my hats…

          • Edward Hotspur
            November 5, 2012

            Positively smashing.

          • Red
            November 5, 2012

            Oh, fab. So, what are the chances we could arrange a RM graphic which is not quite so, shall we say, lovey? I am having a seriously hard time reconciling these to the BDSM poem I have in mind for later in the month. *wicked grin*

          • Edward Hotspur
            November 5, 2012

            Thank you for reminding me. I was going to create one for this next Monday, which will be awesome. To more specifically answer your question, I would say around 100%.

          • Red
            November 5, 2012

            I like those sorts of odds. ;)

  23. benzeknees
    November 5, 2012

    I know I’m very late but I didn’t have a good idea till just now. Here’s mine: http://benzeknees.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=1472&action=edit&message=6&postpost=v2

  24. Pingback: My Romance « OhMyGawd, Just Do What I Say!

  25. sagedoyle
    November 7, 2012

    I would love to participate, I’m assuming it takes place every Monday? I can do something every Monday, or if it can be any day I can have one today for you. Thanks, this is really cool. Sage

    • Edward Hotspur
      November 7, 2012

      It’s every Monday, and I post, but my post is also a portal to everyone else’s posts. Also Monday is different for everyone, so it’s okay to post on your Monday even if it’s still my Sunday. I can’t wait to see what you write!

      • sagedoyle
        November 7, 2012

        Ok cool, so when I post Monday I’ll include your link and a Romantic Monday logo, then I’ll comment here I guess and let you know it’s up, probably sometime in the afternoon. Thanks!

        • Edward Hotspur
          November 7, 2012

          Absolutely… I post a prompt for it on Friday, so you could even post Sunday evening and link to that, and the pingback would tip me off. Then I’d post Monday with your link already in it.

  26. sagedoyle
    November 12, 2012

    Hi I wrote a poem for Romantic Monday it’s called “World” and here’s the link http://wp.me/s2DnTA-world Thanks!

  27. Pingback: MY SEASON OF LOVE – A ROMANTIC MONDAY POST « hastywords

  28. Pingback: Cherry Blossom Puzzle – A Rainy Romantic Monday Post | Edward Hotspur

  29. Pingback: Prelude To A Sleepy Romantic Monday | Edward Hotspur

  30. Pingback: The Perfect Dream – A Sleepy Romantic Monday Post | Edward Hotspur

  31. Pingback: Prelude To A Morning After Romantic Monday | Edward Hotspur

  32. Pingback: Prelude To A Quickie Romantic Monday | Edward Hotspur

  33. Pingback: Prelude To An Unbreakable Spirit Romantic Monday | Edward Hotspur

  34. Pingback: Prelude To A Sunset Romantic Monday | Edward Hotspur

  35. Pingback: Prelude To A Christmas Eve Romantic Monday | Edward Hotspur

  36. Pingback: Prelude To A Platonic Romantic Monday | Edward Hotspur

  37. Pingback: Prelude To A Passionate Romantic Monday | Edward Hotspur

  38. Pingback: Prelude To A Romantic Monday Into The Horizon | Edward Hotspur

  39. Pingback: Prelude To Next Romantic Monday | Edward Hotspur

  40. Pingback: Prelude To Do Not Disturb – Romantic Monday | Edward Hotspur

Say Something I'm Giving Up On You

Enter your email address to follow this blog.

Join 4,051 other followers

Previously

Lyrical Anarchy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,051 other followers

